Envision Athens seeks two Athens-Clarke County residents to join the Implementation and Oversight Committee (IOC), which provides support and guidance for the implementation of the Action Agenda: the twenty-year community and economic development strategy for Athens-Clarke County.

Envision Athens launched implementation efforts nearly two years ago, after an extensive and intentional process which brought together community assessment, targeted analysis, and citizen input. More about Envision Athens can be found here.

Currently, there are 24 members of the IOC, made up of representatives of the following community stakeholders, as well as 3 citizen seats: the Athens Area Chamber of Commerce, the Athens Housing Authority, Athens Technical College, the City of Winterville, Clarke County School District, Georgia Power, Piedmont Athens Regional Hospital, St. Mary’s Hospital, United Way of Northeast Georgia, the Development Authority of the Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County, the Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County, the University of Georgia.

Each of these stakeholders has made funding contributions to support the implementation of the Action Agenda. Two citizen seats are opening as Julita Sanders and Solomon Smothers complete their two-year term on June 30, 2020. We thank them for their service and leadership!

As with the initial Envision Athens Steering Committee, there is a desire that IOC members reflect the demographics of our community. It is critically important that our entire community is engaged and represented as we continue to make progress together. This transformative process for our community is unprecedented in terms of scope, collaboration, and commitment. We hope you will consider applying!

Please complete your application here by April 17.

Leave a Reply