Community Stakeholder Groups

On February 28 and March 1, 2017, community stakeholder from around Athens-Clarke County will gather at the Classic Center to discuss the future of the community. Leaders from ten focus areas will trade thoughts on the key issues and opportunities for the community and add their expertise to the thousands of comments recieved through the Focus on the Future workshops held in late January.

The participants and their organizing groups are included below.

Health and Safety

  • Tracy Thompson, Mercy Health Center
  • J. Booker, Advantage Behavioral Health
  • Katie Calkin, Piedmont Athens Regional
  • Scott Freeman, Athens-Clarke County Police Department
  • Jimmy Williamson, UGA Police Department
  • Cassandra Bray, Live Forward
  • Mary Kathryn Rogers, AU/UGA Medical Partnership
  • Brian Evans, St. Mary’s
  • Joan Prittie (Tangela Beard), Domestic Violence Task Force
  • Marcia Massengill, Clarke County Health Department
  • Jennifer Richardson, The Athens Neighborhood Health Center
  • Ashley Thompson, UGA Health Center’s Counseling and Psychiatric Services


  • Tim Meehan, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Tim Johnson, Communities in Schools
  • Jane Kidd, Piedmont College
  • Theresa Napoli, St. Joseph’s Catholic School
  • Steve Cummings, Athens Christian School
  • Jesse Evans, Cedar Shoals Student Government Association
  • James Barlament, CCSD School Governance Teams
  • Susan Wilson, Athens Latino Center for Education & Services
  • Geoff Walton, Athens Academy
  • James Price, Athens Tech.
  • George Stafford, UGA Administration
  • Melissa Perez Rhym, ULead
  • Sarah McKinney, Athens Area Community Foundation
  • Alex Yates, Clarke Central Student Government Association

Neighborhoods and Civic Vitality

  • Frances Berry, Federation of Neighborhoods
  • Cheryl Legette, Rotary Club of Athens
  • Alvin Sheats, NAACP
  • Kelly Happe, Athens For Everyone
  • Eve Anthony, Council on Aging
  • Joe Purcell (Mike Hill), Kiwanis Club of Athens
  • Patricia Stephens, Inter Community Council
  • John Gilliam, Prince Hall Masons
  • Pastor Abraham Mosley, Concerned Clergy of Metro Athens

Cultural Resources

  • Amy Kissane, Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation
  • Marilyn Wolf-Ragatz, Athens-Clarke Cultural Affairs Commission
  • Aida Quinones, Pinewoods Library
  • Julie Darnell (Valerie Bell), Athens Regional Library
  • Didi Dunphy, Lyndon House Arts Center
  • David Matthews-Morgan, Winterville Arts Council
  • Terry Powell, Athens Creative Theater
  • Paul Cramer, Classic Center
  • Hillary Brown (Michael Lachowski), Georgia Museum of Art

Environment / Agriculture

  • Alex Patterson, Athens-Clarke Greenway Commission
  • Bruno Giri, Upper Oconee Watershed Network
  • Amanda Tedrow, Cooperative Extension
  • Stacee Farrell, Keep Athens-Clarke County Beautiful
  • Billy Paugh, Community Tree Council
  • Mack Duncan, Sandy Creek Nature Center Board
  • Andrew Saunders, ACCUG Environmental Coordinator
  • George Chandler, Clarke County Farmers Roundtable
  • Kevin Kirsche, UGA Office of Sustainability
  • Shelly Prescott, State Botanical Garden
  • Bonnie Chastain, Master Gardeners
  • Nancy Stangle, Athens Land Trust
  • Beth Higgins, Horse Farm/Dressage Owner


  • Doug Hansford, ACCUG Building Permits & Inspections
  • Chadsity Young, ACCUG Housing & Community Development
  • Davin Welter, Interfaith Hospitality Network
  • Cory Scott, Athens Homeless Coalition
  • CiCi Mercer, Habitat for Humanity
  • Rick Gibson, University Housing
  • Karen Tinsley, Georgia Initiative for Community Housing

Transportation and Infrastructure

  • Tyler Dewey, Bike Athens
  • Butch McDuffie, Athens Transit
  • Tim Beggerly, Athens-Ben Epps Airport
  • Drew Raessler, ACCUG Transportation and Public Works
  • Cherie Varnum, Madison Athens-Clarke County Oconee Regional Transportation Study
  • David Spooner, Rails to Trails
  • Tres Small, TSPLOST Citizens Committee
  • Robert Holden, UGA Auxiliary Services
  • Frank Stephens, ACCUG Public Utilities

Economic Development

  • Rabun Dekle, Five Points Business Association
  • Todd Henry, Industrial Roundtable
  • Jordan Burke, Four Athens
  • Chris Blackmon, Athens Downtown Development Authority
  • Michael Myers, Small Business Development Center
  • Chuck Jones, Convention and Visitor’s Bureau
  • Ryan Moore, ACCUG Economic Development
  • Isaiah Ellison, Triangle Plaza Business Association
  • Tyler Duggins, Innovation Gateway at UGA
  • Mike Waldrip, Hotel Association
  • Carl Nichols, Lexington Road Corridor Committee
  • Pam Johnson, Athens Technical College
  • Denise Ricks, Atlanta Highway Corridor Committee

Social Services

  • Lemuel LaRoche, Chess and Community
  • Grace Bagwell Adams, Athens Wellbeing Project
  • Leo Cotlar, Casa De Amistad
  • Winston Heard, East Athens Development Corporation
  • Elisa Zarate, Accountability Court – Felony Drug Court
  • Mike Hackett, Boys and Girls Club
  • Susie Weller, Athens-Oconee CASA
  • Kevin Turner, Clarke County Mentor Program
  • Bonnie Miller, Georgia Legal Services
  • Dawn Criss (Andrea Lingard) DFCS
  • Lucy Hudgens, The Ark
  • Solomon Smothers, Action Ministries
  • Shae Post, Athens Area Homeless Shelter
  • Lisa Gautreaux, Action Inc.

Future Land Use

  • Alice Kinman, Planning Commission
  • James Anderson, Planning Commission
  • Maxine Easom, Planning Commission
  • Lucy Rowland, Planning Commission
  • James Scanlon, Planning Commission
  • Dave Hudgins, Planning Commission
  • Brad Griffin, ACCUG Planning Director
  • Ted Gilbert, Clarke County School District
  • Gwynne Darden, UGA Architect’s Office